Leelah Alcorn’s Death

Fair warning this may come off as more of a rant than a formulated entry but I needed to vent my feelings on this and I don’t want to deal with my own sexist/racist/homophobic/transphobic family on facebook. Fair warning there are mentions of suicide.

You may have heard that Leelah Alcorn committed suicide by walking in front of a semi-truck, or you may have heard that Joshua Alcorn was tragically killed in an automobile accident. They are the same person, and the same story. Leelah was a 17 year old trans girl living in Ohio under the strict parenting of a hyper-conservative Christian family. Rather than giving her HRT as she wanted, she was forced to undergo “conversion therapy”. Rather than being addressed as Leelah, even in death her family referred to her as their son. She will be buried in a suit with the name Joshua on her grave, and that sickens me.

Leelah’s final wishes were that her death meant something and that her personal finances be donated to trans supporting charities. We all know that will not happen, but we can at least accomplish the first one.

This issue is so close to heart. My girlfriend is transgendered. I couldn’t imagine losing her, and I know how terrible her home life is. I wish I could have been there for Leelah, and every other LGBT+ youth who needs somebody to support and love them.

If you see somebody mentioning Josh Alcorn, supporting her parents, or slandering her, please put them into place.

Do not let this poor girl’s death be meaningless.

You can donate to many trans charities in her honor as a way of bypassing her parent’s disregard for her final wishes. You can email the superintendent for her school district to make it known to students what happened, and where to find help if they too are suffering with their identity.

Remember Leelah Alcorn.

#TransLivesMatter

About Jessie

I'm just a college student stuck in the deep south with very few plans for the future. I like to talk about new wave feminism, guns, classic cars, fish, how outrageously gay I am, and really bad jokes. I don't get out much unless its a GoodWill run or I'm out of mac and cheese. Sometimes I do cute date things with my partner, other times I just stare wistfully at all the cute snakes I'll never own.

Posted on December 31, 2014, in Chum and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

